Walking in and Exploring the English County of Cumbria

Walkingincumbria.org.uk is no longer available. Please visit walkinginengland.co.uk/cumbria/index.php instead.

Exploring Cumbria

Cumbria is a non-metropolitan area and the third-largest county in the northwestern part of England. Bordering it are County Durham, North Yorkshire, Lancashire, and Northumberland, as well as Dumfries and Galloway and the Scottish Borders. It consists of six districts: Allerdale, South Lakeland, Copeland, Carlisle, Barrow-in-Furness, and Eden.

The Lake District: Adventure Capital of the UK

Cumbria is home to a historic attraction (and considered a UNESCO World Heritage Site), the Lake District National Park. It's also known as the Adventure Capital of the UK and has many fun activities to offer. Some are mountain biking, zorbing, kayaking, paragliding, horse riding, and paintballing.

Moreover, the site is sparsely populated and one of the most tranquil locations in England. 16 lakes are scattered in it, and they all have regular boat services. This is the ideal spot for anyone who wants to go soul-searching and find some peace and quiet. It's also why artists often visit it to unwind and be struck by inspiration.

Historic Sites

Next to the Lake District, the county is home to more historical sites. This makes it the perfect holiday retreat for history lovers. The county's historic sites include Hadrian's Wall, Carlisle Castle, and Hardknott Roman Fort.

The Coastline

Cumbria's amazing coastline is also a top reason visitors frequent the county. And in fact, many museums mark the coast's industrial heritage. A coastal village, Saint Bees features seabird colonies, rocky cliffs, and majestic views of Victorian seaside resorts.